More Newspapers!

Yesterday I subscribed (digitally) to the Los Angeles Times and the Washington Post. I already subscribe to the Santa Rosa Press Democrat (my excellent local paper) and The New York Times, and I really don’t need more reading opportunities. However, as I think about strategic action in these troubled times, I keep coming back to investigative reporting. We need reporters who dig deep and present facts about complicated matters. (We have plenty of opinions already.) Sorry, TV and the internet don’t do that. Newspapers do. And they need money!

I look on these added subscriptions just like my annual contributions to the Yosemite Conservancy and my local public radio stations and Amnesty International. They are for the public good.

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “More Newspapers!”

  1. l Says:

    I see no ‘conservative’ rag on your list.

    • timstafford Says:

      Yeah, I’ve thought about that. One reason: I’m not a conservative. But more fundamentally, the (few) newspapers that still have reporters doing investigative work aren’t conservative. The Wall Street Journal is an exception to that generalization, it hires good reporters, but I believe it’s true to say that it doesn’t do a lot of investigative reporting. Can you suggest other publications? Keep in mind, I’m not talking about commentary. I’m talking about reporters who may spend months on a story, digging out the facts.

Leave a Reply

