The Refugee Crisis

I just returned from 2.5 weeks in Europe, traveling with photographer Gary Gnidovic on behalf of Books and Culture magazine. My job is to write a report on the European refugee crisis. Gary and I visited Germany, Austria, Croatia, Serbia and Greece, more or less tracing backward the path for most migrants. I interviewed many refugees and many people helping them; I tried to understand the situation from the ground level. It was an amazing chance to see a world-historical event as it unfolds. I was challenged and inspired  and sometimes depressed by what I witnessed.

Books and Culture has published a couple of short posts I wrote while traveling; here’s one. You can follow that to the other. But the big article comes out in May. I’ll let you know.

Tags: , , ,

5 Responses to “The Refugee Crisis”

  1. Kathy Karlen Says:

    Thanks for sharing this. I look forward to talking with you more and reading the more complete work with the pictures in May. Thanks for letting me read this and your first entry.

    Kathy Karlen,

  2. Kathy Karlen Says:

    Is there a way that I can post this on Facebook as I have a lot of friends that would be interested in this? I am also all ears for ways that I can help out these refugees. Thanks for your heart and your willingness to go and see and report back. Tim, you are such a blessing. Kathy

  3. Ken Says:

    Tim – Great to meet you in Athens at the Helenic Scripture Union house. Glad I found your blog… really enjoyed my conversation with Gary, too. I’ll be watching for your B&C article. Your friend, Ken Kemp

  4. Jessica Westra Says:

    Beautiful. Looking forward to the May issue. Would love to touch bases with you about your experiences putting together God’s Justice Bible soon! Westraeventsandmedia at gmail. Thanks! Jessica

  5. Scott Bolinder Says:

    Wish I could have carried your bags… Can’t wait for your article. Great journalist, great photographer = must read!

Leave a Reply

