One Data Point on Obamacare

Tuesday I signed up for Obamacare at the Covered California website. My wife and I are both self-employed and, unlike many Americans, have never been without health insurance. We have been able to buy insurance by keeping a  catastrophic-care policy with a well-known major insurance company, but we were locked in to that provider because (though we are both quite healthy people) we have “pre-existing conditions.” (It’s hard to reach 60 years of age without a pre-existing condition.) That meant  the price kept going up and up and up, to obscene levels.
The good news is that I purchased a comparable policy that lets us stay with our present physicians for less than half what we have been paying. Applying online took me about half an hour. I will save a lot of money, and–also significant–if I don’t like it I can switch.
I know it’s just one person’s story, and proves nothing about the future of Obamacare. But it does provide a glimmer of hope.
Tags: , , ,

One Response to “One Data Point on Obamacare”

  1. Gary M Says:

    Great news! Glad to hear some positive information on Obamacare for a change. I know there are others out there, and hope they join in the chorus soon.

Leave a Reply

