The Best Way to Change Your Life

What’s the best way to change your life?

Thousands of psychology and self-help books answer that question. Most of them overlook a tool strongly recommended in Scripture.

“When we put bits into the mouths of horses to make them obey us, we can turn the whole animal. Or take ships as an example. Although they are so large and are driven by strong winds, they are steered by a very small rudder wherever the pilot wants to go. Likewise the tongue is a small part of the body…..” (James 3:3-5)

The way we talk leverages our unwieldy lives. That sounds implausible to an era that honors verbal spontaneity and self-expression. But try it, and you’ll find that you can transform relationships and improve attitudes simply by learning to think before you speak.

I’ve been trying to live by this advice for a few decades, and the years have not diminished my belief in its effectiveness. It’s the most powerful self-help tool I know, by far.  I once wrote a book on it, probably the most practical book I have ever produced.

That book has been out of print for a long time. But reading it over again, I’m convinced it is not out of date. Quite the contrary. So I have re-published it as an e-book. As of today it is available on Kindle and Smashwords. Within a few days it should be out on other sites as well, such as Barnes and Noble. It’s only $2.99.

That’s Not What I Meant: Words that Hurt, Words that Heal. [Kindle]

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “The Best Way to Change Your Life”

  1. Bill Reichert Says:

    Bought it! I can’t imagine anyone who wouldn’t need this, Tim.

    Thanks.

  2. Ed Eubanks Says:

    Tim, I read this book while in college, and it was great. Would you contact me off-blog about it? (I’d like to discuss getting it back into print.)
    ed -dot- eubanks (at) gmail…

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

