Listening to China

Books and Culture has published my review of God is Red, a book about Chinese Christians written by an engaging, unbelieving dissident who has repeatedly got himself in trouble with the Chinese government. It’s quite a fascinating book with some dramatic and moving testimonies, and a tendency to subvert standard narratives of the Chinese church. Here’s my review: http://www.booksandculture.com/articles/2012/marapr/listeningchinese.html. If you’re not familiar with Books and Culture you might want to peruse it, too–it’s an excellent, intellectual journal.

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “Listening to China”

  1. David Graham Says:

    Having recently visited China myself, plus having bought God is Red to put on my reading list, I am looking forward to reading your review of it…which I will do when my copy of Books & Culture is hand-carried down from the U.S. later this month. I appreciate the electronic link to your article, but want to savor the reading experience on paper… 🙂

Leave a Reply

