Osama’s Picture

For what it’s worth, I think President Obama made the right call in not releasing photos of bin Laden’s body. And not because of what they might do to potential terrorists. Rather because of what they might do to me.

Like (I assume) everybody else, I kinda wanna see them. But  I think this is not my soul’s most noble longing. It is rather ghoulish, dwelling in the sheol of violence and death, the very place where bin Laden spent his entire adult life. He rejoiced to see his enemies die, their towers crumble.  I am glad that he got his deserts and is no longer with us. But I don’t want to cherish that thought. I want to go on to better things. I don’t want to be like him.

Tags: , , ,

3 Responses to “Osama’s Picture”

  1. Karen Heyse Says:

    Yes…I agree….I think it would be one of those rather “horror type” images that would not easily escape the brain’s storage closets. I am content to know he is not a threat. I remain a bit disturbed that our Native Indians are fussing about the Geronimo label…..I think they should be proud that was used instead of being offended. Crazy mixed up world for sure.

    PS…plus Osama apparently got his “highs” from his ” weed ” infested cabbage patch.

  2. Gary Moline Says:

    Tim, I couldn’t agree more. Besides, I saw enough gruesome scenes and pictures in Vietnam, and a couple still haunt me. Even if we released the photo, in the age of air brushes and photoshop, many would claim it was a fake.

  3. James Swenson Says:

    I think I agree with what you’re saying, Tim. On the other hand, I also think that Jon Stewart hit on something we need to hear: “Personally, the best reason in my mind for releasing the pictures is that we’ve been fighting this war for nearly ten years — thousands of U.S. deaths, tens of thousands of Iraqis and Afghanis have died…. Maybe we should always show pictures. Bin Laden, pictures of our wounded servicepeople, pictures of maimed innocent civilians — we can only make decisions about war if we see what war actually is.”

Leave a Reply

