Teeming Diversity

I’ve written about Cape Town 2010 in an earlier posting (here) and also on Christianity Today’s Liveblog (here). Now my feature article for CT is published, and available on the website (here). It gives an overview of the conference, which I believe will make important contributions to the global church for years to come.

There’s a little story behind its writing. My original airplane reservations called for me to leave directly from Cape Town and fly to Ethiopia. I wasn’t even clear that a feature article was planned, and I thought I would have  time to write whatever was needed after I got home

Then, some weeks after I made my plans, I learned that the Ethiopian airlines flight from Addis to Gambela had reduced its frequency from daily to 3x a week. I had to change my reservations (at great expense) and even then I had a “wasted” day in Addis.

As it turned out, that day was a gift from God. While in Cape Town I learned that I had to produce a 1,500 word article within a few days of the conference. I left the conference absolutely drained,  in no shape to write anything that made sense. I flew all day and got to Addis, where the Daughters of Charity put me up for the night. After a good night’s sleep I got up very early and wrote my story, then spent the afternoon finding a wi-fi connection so I could send it out. My wasted day was very much appreciated!

Tags: ,

One Response to “Teeming Diversity”

  1. mindy Says:

    Yay! So glad you had that day. I was grateful for the liveblog entries, and appreciated the article. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

