Memo to Myself

I’m starting this blog for two reasons. First and foremost, I need a place to work out my thoughts. Through most of my 35 years as a writer I’ve worked for magazines that gave me license to publish on whatever subject I found interesting. Lately I’ve found that less true, as my current editors at Christianity Today (http://www.christianitytoday.com if you want to look up my writings in the archives) don’t necessarily think along the same lines I do. No fault to them.
I think by writing, and I need a place to express my thoughts without too many restrictions. So in this blog I will think out loud, working out my ideas on a wide variety of topics. That’s good for me. I hope it’s good for somebody else, too. I intend to explore faith, global Christianity, politics and economics, movies and books, marriage and sexuality, Africa, evangelicalism, science and faith, biblical theology, and Life. Broad enough for you?
Secondly, though I am an old guy and somewhat averse to the blogosphere, I recognize that this is where ideas are tested and explored today. I dislike the self-promotion and the lack of editorial judgment that characterize the web, but so what? It’s where the action is. I hope to be a part of the vast, formless conversation hosted by the world wide web.
This is a test. We’ll see how it goes. A year from now I want to sit back and evaluate whether anything worthwhile has happened on this blog. In the meantime, I intend to work at it, posting at least once a week and often more. I’d like it if you would join me.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Memo to Myself”

  1. Terry haynes Says:

    Could be interesting. I’ll read on. This type of communication is pretty amorphous, but whey you know the writer personally or by reputation it takes on much more meaning. It takes on context.

    BTW: this is somewhat of a test to see how these comments work.

  2. Pete Sommer Says:

    Tim,

    This is good. I will attempt to be a consistent reader. At 59, I understand my world less and less, or to the degree I do, I dread its direction. My email identity is Hindenburg. It’s a cheap response and I know it. Hope is difficult, it’s a grace to seek not a property of nature, at least not my nature.

    This correlates to having less energy (though my health is pretty darn good), and a sense of “no more time for that,” which makes me want to take a peremptory judgment and get on to the next thing. I constantly feel like I am running out of time, and must choose carefully from a smaller set of possibilities.

    You’ve also got enough common value and shared experience that this promises to be worthwhile. So blog on. I know you’re not in it for the $$!

    best

    Pete

    • timstafford Says:

      I like what you say. “Hope is difficult.” When we were young, not so difficult. But the uphill slope gets steeper as we get older. My “hope” is that this reflects God’s work in our lives: that we have passed through the introductory course and moved on to more advanced studies.

  3. Elizabeth Gilbert Says:

    Hi, Tim, I read the whole thing and like it mostly. I’ve never read a blog on an ongoing basis, so I’ll see how I do. How does one find out when you have added to the blog? As y ou can see, I’m not part of that world. Today a colleague at work about a generation younger than I asked me how I would alphabetize, in an index, Sgt Pepper’s Lonely Heart Band. She had absolutely no idea what it was or who had sung it. So I am conscious of getting older, too. But so far this is my best decade. But right now I am very sad and a little angry; we are going through layoffs and voluntary early retirements at work, so our hearts are aching as we miss colleagues and in particular do not understand one of the layoffs. The empty offices are like dark caves. We the remnant are glad to still have paychecks, but we have the threat hanging over our heads from the university that they will pay even closer attention and will want more layoffs if we don’t make our budget in coming months. I know I am in the ivory tower and very lucky; but the idea that someone “did not want” my beloved colleague is very painful. It is hard to avoid the thought that politics are behind the decision. We wander around the building like wraiths. I hope we recover. I know we will, but it will never be the same. At least some of us are talking about what is happening and expressing our feelings to each other; that feels healthy and good. As dear E. M. Forster said, “Only connect.” (I think that is on his tombstone?)

Leave a Reply

